NEWS Release

Aransas County Courthouse e 2840 Hwy. 35 N. e Rockport, TX 78382

CONTACT: Deanna Spruce, Aransas County Public Information Officer, pio@aransascounty.org, (361) 790-9496

Judge C.H. “Burt” Mills announced today, March 22, 2021, a Burn Ban is in effect for Aransas County. Due to the
existing dryness and recent events this Burn Ban will take place until further notice.
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STATE OF TEXAS
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COUNTY OF ARANSAS §

COURT ORDER #0O-04-2021
ORDER PROHIBITING OUTDOOR BURNING

WHEREAS, the Commissioners’ Court of Aransas County finds that circumstances present in all or part of the
unincorporated area of the county create a public safety hazard that would be exacerbated by outdoor burning; and

WHEREAS, Section 352.081 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that such an Order lasts for a
maximum period of up to 90 days or until a determination by the Texas Forest Service or this Court and /or County Judge
that drought conditions no longer exist;

WHEREAS, the Commissioners’ Court authorizes the County Judge to rescind the outdoor burning Order once
conditions have improved;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED by the Commissioners’ Court of Aransas County, Texas,
that all outdoor burning is prohibited in the unincorporated area of the county for 90 days from the date of adoption of
this order, unless the restrictions are terminated earlier based on a determination made by (1) the Texas Forest Service
that drought conditions no longer exist, or (2) the Commissioners Court and/or County Judge based on a determination
that the circumstances that required the Order no longer exist.

This ORDER is adopted pursuant to Texas Local Government Code 352-081, and other applicable statutes. This Order
does not prohibit outdoor burning activities related to public health and safety that are authorized by the Texas
Commission on Environmental Quality for: (1) firefighter training; (2) public utility, natural gas pipeline or mining
operations; (3) planting or harvesting of agricultural crops; or (4) burns that are conducted by a prescribed burn manager
certified under Natural Resources Code Section 153.048, and meet the standards of Natural Resources Code, Section
153.047.

In accordance with Texas Local Government Code 352.081(h), a violation of this Order is a Class C misdemeanor,
punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.00

DULY ADOPTED BY ARANSAS COUNTY ON MARCH 22, 2021.

/S/ C.H. "Burt" Mills, Jr.
C.H. “BURT” MILLS, JR., County Judge

IS/ J Chaney /S/ L Casterline
JACK CHANEY, Commissioner Pct. 1 LESLIE CASTERLINE, Commissioner Pct. 2
/S/ P Rousseau /SI' W LAUBACH
PAT ROUSSEAU, Commissioner Pct. 3 WENDY LAUBACH, Commissioner Pct. 4
ATTEST:

1S/ C ARRINGTON

CARRIE ARRINGTON, County Clerk



